Xtra Mile Recordings labelmates and tour buddies Skinny Lister and Beans On Toast have written and recorded a festive ditty called 'This Christmas', released on 20 November 2015. Money raised from sales will go to homeless charity Shelter.

You can buy the single on iTunes or get it from our digital shop. You can also support Shelter’s emergency Christmas appeal. Please visit or text SHELTER to 70060 to donate £3.

While touring the US with Frank Turner, the riotous rum-soaked troupe and the ragged-throated troubadour bonded leading to this inevitable collaboration. 'This Christmas' is crammed full of poignant, bittersweet, funny but ultimately uplifting anecdotes of seeing family and friends at Christmas. The song boasts pounding drums, sleigh bells and decorative accordion while Jay Beans and Lorna from Skinny Lister duet around lines that are stuffed with turkey, presents and undeniable sentiments: “I love you, I miss you and I can't wait to see you and forget about all that other business”.

Watch the video below:

They had this to say about the union:

“‘This Christmas’ wraps up all our memories of Christmas into a neat four minute song to be delivered as a gift to our friends and followers this Christmas. It’s got family, nostalgia and festive cheer in abundance! Written and recorded on our recent tour across America, the Santa hats were crucial in providing that extra little bit of seasonal magic in the studio! We’re giving all the proceeds to Shelter, the amazing charity taking care of those without a home. Everybody deserves something nice at Christmas right?”

Skinny Lister are supporting Frank Turner once again on his UK tour throughout November while Beans On Toast headlines his own tour throughout November and December. Full dates can be found on our gig calendar. Their dates are also on their websites  and

Skinny Lister’s recent album Down On Deptford Broadway was released in April of this year garnering rave reviews across the board, with Q Magazine roaring “three cheers for a band who give pub rock a good name”, while the Evening Standard declared “it’s harder to imagine anything more mischievous”. Beans On Toast releases his seventh studio album Rolling Up The Hill on 1 December which has been described by Rocksound as “quite possibly his most accessible and immediate album to date.”

The money raised will support Shelter’s Christmas campaign. In Britain, 100,000 children will wake up homeless this Christmas morning. You won’t see these children on the streets. Rather, they’ll be hidden away in temporary accommodation – including cold, cramped B&Bs and hostels that are damaging to their health. Their suffering risks being forgotten.


To support Shelter’s emergency Christmas appeal please visit or text SHELTER to 70060 to donate £3.

Shelter helps millions of people every year struggling with bad housing or homelessness – and campaign to prevent it in the first place. Shelter is here so no one has to fight bad housing or homelessness on their own. / / Twitter @Shelter /



It’s a Wonderful Christmas Carol is a brand new bundle of seasonal songs from the UK’s foremost (or only) purveyors of concept-folk-pop, The Retrospective Soundtrack Players. Good boys and girls who preorder will be gifted the early Christmas present of 'Every Time a Bell Rings an Angel Gets its Wings'.

Preorder the album on CD, vinyl and download from Xtra Mile Recordings, on CD or vinyl from Amazon or Banquet Records, and - finally - download straight from iTunes. Phew! You're being spoiled this Christmas!

The veritable shopping list of tracks for RSP's festive third album is below, including the live choir-like favourite 'No Man Is Poor Who Has Friends'. But you can listen to the suitably cynical 'Bah Hambug' right now here: 

It’s A Wonderful Christmas Carol features guest appearances from several artists from the Xtra Mile stable – namely Frank Turner, Ben Marwood and Chris T-T.

1. Theme from ‘It’s a Wonderful Christmas Carol’
2. I’m Sleeping this Christmas
3. It’s a Wonderful Life
4. Bah Humbug! Instant Grat for preordering
5. The Guardian Angel
6. The Ghost of Christmas Past (I’m a Coward) featuring Chris T-T
7. The Ghost of Christmas Present (No Ego) featuring Frank Turner
8. The Ghost of Christmas Yet to Come (I Can’t Be Anybody Else) featuring Ben Marwood
9. Christmas Day
10. Every Time a Bell Rings an Angel Gets its Wings
11. No Man is Poor Who Has Friends

It’s A Wonderful Christmas Carol borrows themes of loneliness, greed, poverty and eventual redemption from the classic works of Dickens and Capra, weaving them into a new compendium of joyous and memorable songs that showcase the band’s unique voice and storytelling skill.

The band will be playing a few shows around the release: 


14 Southampton @ Joiners *
21 London @ Camden Monarch **

07 Portsmouth @ Square Tower ***
12 Manchester @ Star & Garter ***
14 Swindon @ Victoria ***
18 Brighton @ The Brunswick ***
* with Solemn Sun / ** with Elliott Kozlik / *** with Chris T-T and the Hoodrats

Some words about RSP’s previous work:

‘Nihilistic and hopelessly romantic, Kyle Evans imitates Holden Caulfield perfectly...'  ROCK SOUND
'Less of a band and more of an art project... thoroughly enjoyable'  PUNKTASTIC
‘authentic, original and innovative gems… irresistibly catchy’  STEREOBOARD /