Will Varley will release 'The Man Who Fell To Earth' with a brand new homemade video as his first single from new album Postcards From Ursa Minor, out 30 October 2015. One of Time Out’s rising stars of 2015, Will Varley will release his new album on CD, vinyl and download through Xtra Mile Recordings. Preorder it at our digital shop, or from other outlets including Banquet Records,  online from Amazon, and as download from iTunes. The single will also be available as an instant grat for those who preorder.

The haunting yet beautiful ‘The Man Who Fell To Earth’ is inspired by the tragic story of Jose Matata, an African immigrant whose body was found in a quiet suburban street one morning after falling out of the fuselage of a British Airways plane above London in 2009, attempting to illegally gain entry to the UK. It’s a powerful and timely piece of social commentary.

See the video below:

Produced by Tristan Ivemy and mastered at Abbey Road by Frank Arkwright (Arcade Fire, Blur) Postcards From Ursa Minor pushes the boundaries of the ‘one man and a guitar’ format. From rowdy drinking songs with sprawling chaotic arrangements to his sparse solo performances he covers a range of subjects with his trademark sprinkling of social commentary, politics and wry humour.

Observing the world and the plight of humanity as if perched cross-legged on the edge of the moon, Varley’s existential themes cover the planet’s lonely existence within the universe as well focusing in to tackle the everyday minutia of human life.

‘Is Anyone Out There’ is a tongue in cheek call to any alien life forms that may be out there, to come and help us stop destroying the Earth. The track has actually been transmitted out into space using a 20 foot parabolic satellite dish in the US. We await a response!

Songs like 'Outside Over There' and 'Talking Cat Blues' show off Varley's storytelling prowesss while 'Seize The Night' and 'From Halcyon' take a more nostalgic approach, lamenting lost friends and times past.

Postcards From Ursa Minor tracklisting is:

As For My Soul
The Man Who Fell To Earth
Seize The Night
Outside Over There
This House
Talking Cat Blues
From Halcyon
Dark Days Away
Send My Love To The System
The Endlessness And The Space Between
Concept Of Freedom
Is Anyone Out There?
The Question Of Passing Time

Varley will be supporting label-mate Frank Turner throughout November on his huge sold out UK tour, playing to over 35,000 people. Full dates and details below or on our gig calendar with ticket links.


05 Llandudno Venue Cymru
06 Southampton Guildhall SOLD OUT
07 Southampton Guildhall SOLD OUT
09 Falmouth Princess Pavilion SOLD OUT
10 Falmouth Princess Pavilion
13 Glasgow Barrowland SOLD OUT
14 Newcastle University SOLD OUT
15 Nottingham Rock City SOLD OUT
16 Nottingham Rock City
18 Birmingham Academy
19 Sheffield Academy SOLD OUT
21 Bristol Colston Hall SOLD OUT
22 Bristol Colston Hall
23 Manchester Academy SOLD OUT
24 Manchester Academy
26 London Alexandra Palace

Will signed to Xtra Mile Recordings backstage at the Royal Albert Hall just moments before he performed on stage supporting Frank Turner as part of the Teenage Cancer Trust charity gig. The 27-year-old rambling singer-songwriter from Kent is a self-made man who, on one recent tour, walked 500 miles with a guitar on his back, playing shows along the way. He makes his own music videos. He co-runs his own record label and music festival, Smugglers. As if mirroring his work ethic, his songs pack narrative detail. Each three or four minutes is earthy and punchy, rolling and rollicking upon barely-concealed anger, or blatant piss-taking.

www.facebook.com/willvarleymusic / Twitter @willvarleymusic / www.willvarley.com